What Poor Site Search Costs Your Business

Fact Sheet
What Poor Site Search Costs
Your Business
If you’re a medium to large-sized business it’s not unreasonable to assume
you’re aiming to drive a million new visitors to your website this year using
pay-per-click advertising.
Even if you’re planning to drive a fraction of that traffic there’s one undeniable
fact you can’t ignore: a generic and unintuitive site-search experience costs you.
Here’s why...
Poor Site Search Costs You Visitors
Want to Try This Out With
Your Own Numbers?
0
new visitors x 24%
=0
lost potential
customers (A).
0 ________ cost per click
24% of website visitors leave because of poor site search.
x _________
new visitors x 24%
0
 1M new visitors x 24% = 240,000 potential customers leave.
= ________
ad dollars wasted.
0
Poor Site Search Costs You Advertising Dollars
0
Let’s say you pay an industry average $3.40 per click.
x 5% x ________ average order
 $3.40 x 1M x 24% = $816,000 wasted.
Poor Site Search Costs You Revenue
Site search users generally convert at about 5% (websites optimized for site
search can convert site search users at 20% or more). Let’s say you have an
average order value of $491.
 240,000 lost visitors x 5% x $491 = $5.89M revenue lost.
© 2016 RealDecoy Inc. All rights reserved
lost customers (A)
value = ________
revenue lost.
0
We recognize many factors
can increase or decrease the
total economic impact of a
poor site search experience
on your company. At the same
time, you might be wondering
how to weight site search
against your other pressing
customer experience priorities.
That’s why we suggest making
small incremental improvements.
pg 1
The Opportunity You Could
Have With a RealDecoy
Influenced Site Search
Experience
Separately, improvements in site
search and merchandizing provide small, but important, incremental increases. Together, these
increases offer a transformational
conversion opportunity.
 Optimizing the location and
size of your search box could
boost revenue by as much
as 84%.
 Automatically deleting
placeholder text when the
visitor clicks the search box
can reduce bounce rate by
up to 40%.
 Adding predictive type-ahead
search could give you an 18%
increase in conversion rate,
and 33% faster searches.
 Implementing adequate and
relevant sorting and filtering
options could boost conversions by 26%.
Find Out How Your Site Search
Could Be Better, Free!
Tactical improvements to site search translate into amazing customer
experiences. Done well, site search drives profit by connecting more loyal
customers to more of your product content – quickly and easily.
RealDecoy’s Site Search Health Check rates the quality of your site search
experience and provides a prioritized roadmap to achieve incremental improvements and ROI gains.
Ask about RealDecoy’s free Site Search Health Check, today!
Visit RealDecoy.com/HealthCheck for full details.
About RealDecoy
RealDecoy is the profit-driving connection between customers and your product
content. E-commerce analysts and companies topping the Fortune and Internet
Retailer lists consider RealDecoy to be an authority on site search. Harvard
Business Publishing, The Home Depot, Lands’ End, Office Depot and Samsung
are among the many brands personalizing site search experiences thanks to
engagements with RealDecoy.
Start connecting more loyal customers to more of your product content. Contact
RealDecoy at +1.613.454.5510 and visit us online at www.realdecoy.com.
The numbers used above are based on industry standards, research, and
customer averages. Data and industry averages for this fact sheet are sourced
from Forrester, eConsultancy, MarketingSherpa and RealDecoy’s own customer
averages and estimates.
 Dealing appropriately with
misspellings and zero-result
searches could get you 82%
more conversions.
 Improving your product categorization and taxonomy could
help you sell 2x as much.
 Merchandizing your product
catalog could increase your
average order value 88%.
 Personalizing search results
could triple your revenue
per search.
© 2016 RealDecoy Inc. All rights reserved
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