Playing a spell Targeting The Stack

Wednesday Night Magic
Playing a spell
Targeting
The Stack
Playing a spell
1. The player chooses a mode for the spell if the spell is modal.
2. The player chooses if he or she wants to pay alternative or additional
costs (such as convoke)
3. The player announces his or her targets.
4. The player determines the cost of the spell.
5. The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not
allowed. Unpayable costs can't be paid.
6. The spell is cast and put on the stack.
Playing a spell
Step 1: Choosing a mode. What is a mode? A spell or ability is
“modal” if it has two or more options preceded by “Choose one —,”
“Choose two —,” “Choose one or both —,” or “[a specified player]
chooses one —.” Each option is a “mode.”
Playing a spell
Step 2: Paying alternative/additional costs. Paying additional costs
happens before the spell resolves.
Playing a spell
Step 3: Announcing targets. You must have legal targets in order to cast a
spell. If a spell requires you to have multiple targets they all must be
present and legal at the time you get to step three. If a target becomes
illegal when the spell is on the stack the other effects to the targets will
still occur.
Playing a spell
Step 4: Determining the cost of a spell. During this step you determine
what kind of costs have to be paid and apply any increases/reductions.
Step 5: The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are
not allowed. Unpayable costs can't be paid.
The Stack
Step 6: The spell is cast and put on the stack. Every time that you play
any spell or an ability it doesn't just "happen" right away. Instead, it goes
onto an imaginary pile called "The Stack". The Stack is sort of a holding
place for spells that are in "limbo" between the time you play them and
the time they actually resolve (a.k.a. "happen"). The stack resolves with
whatever is last played on to it down to what was first placed onto it
(provided both players don't add any new spells or abilities when they
receive priority).
The Stack
http://youtu.be/k-9k5pf9Uc8?t=13s
The Stack
In this example Coral Barrier has been cast and enters the battlefield.
When it does the “put a 1/1 squid token onto the battlefield” triggers. The
inactive player then casts Lightning strike on the Coral Reef. What
happens to the squid?
The Stack
Resolving the stack: The Coral Barrier went on to the stack and the active player
passed priority. The inactive player passed back having nothing to do. Coral
Barrier came into play and the squid trigger went onto the stack. In response to
the trigger the inactive player played Lightning Strike targeting the Coral
Barrier. The active player passed priority so the Lightning Strike killed the Coral
Barrier then the squid trigger resolves, putting the 1/1 squid token with
islandwalk into play. Killing the creature doesn't stop the triggered ability from
happening.
The Stack
Example 2:
The active player plays Sip of Hemlock targeting Brood Keeper. The
inactive player, at 2 life, doesn't want to die to the 2 damage Sip of
Hemlock deals so they respond to Sip by playing Stoke the Flames
targeting his own Brood Keeper. What happens?
The Stack
Example 2 Resolving the Stack:
The Sip of Hemlock targeting the Brood Keeper goes onto the stack.
When the active player passes priority the inactive player (who owns the
Keeper) plays Stoke the Flames. When both players have nothing else to
add to the stack the Stoke the Flames resolves killing the Brood Keeper.
The Sip of Hemlock then attempts to resolve but can't as it no longer has
a legal target. As such, the entire spell is countered on resolution and the
inactive player does not take 2 damage.
Rulings
What happens at Regular Rules Enforcement Level (REL) and
Competitive REL when there is an illegal target for the spell you just tried
to cast?
What happens if a player doesn't give you a chance to add something to
the stack when it's your turn?
What are some ways you can make what's on the stack clear when playing
Magic?
Quiz
1. What is the 2nd step of casting a spell?
2. In what order does the stack resolve?
3. If you cast a spell with multiple targets and one of the targets gets
destroyed does the spell become countered?
4. If you kill a creature with its ability on the stack does the ability
resolve?
5. What happens at Regular Rules Enforcement Level (REL) when there
is an illegal target for the spell you just tried to cast?