21.With one out and a runner on third base, the batter

Answers to You Make the Call !
Correct answers are highlighted in yellow.
1.The first base umpire incorrectly calls a runner out at first base. A different umpire
sees the incorrect call and automatically overrules the first base umpire. Is this allowed?
A) Yes
B) No
Note: The only time an umpire can overrule another is, if the umpire who originally
made the call asks for help, or the home plate umpire interprets the rule differently.
2. Without touching any person, a batted ball hits the pitcher's plate and bounces into
foul ground. The ball is ruled foul.
A) True
B) False
Note: The pitcher's plate is merely a part of the playing field. A fair ball is a batted ball that
settles or is touched on or over fair territory between home and first base or home and third
base, touches or bounds over a base, touches first, second, or third bases, touches the person
of any umpire or player while in fair territory, or first falls or is first touched on or over fair
territory beyond first or third base.
3. With runners on first and second, the batter hits a ball to the shortstop. The
shortstop fields the ball, steps on second for the force and then throws wildly to the first
baseman. The first baseman tosses his glove into the air hitting the ball. The ball
bounces into the dugout.
What is the ruling?
A) The runner on first is out. Both the batter and runner on second are awarded one base
from their positions on an overthrow in the infield.
B) The runner on first is out. Both the batter and runner on second are awarded two
bases from their positions when the first baseman's detached glove touches the ball.
C) The runner on first is the only out. There is no
penalty for using detached equipment to field a ball in the infield.
D) The runner on first is out. The batter is awarded first and the runner on second is awarded
third because the first baseman fielded a ball using detached equipment in the infield.
Note: The runner on second is out. The runner on second and the batter would be awarded
two bases. In this situation, since detached equipment was used to field a THROWN BALL,
the award is two bases from the point the ball touched the detached glove. If the ball was hit,
the award would be three bases. If the ball was pitched, the award would be one base.
4. With a runner on third and no one out, the batter hits a fly ball to left field. While
the ball is in flight, the third base coach pushes the runner back towards third base. The
left fielder makes the catch. The runner scores on the sacrifice fly. Is this legal?
A) No. Since the assistance by the coach occurred before any out was recorded. The runner
must return back to third base and the batter remains at bat.
B) Yes. The batter is out. Since no one had possession of the ball, the coach was allowed to
assist the runner. The run scores.
C) No. The ball is dead once it is caught. The batter is out and the runner is out for
being aided.
D) No. The batter is out. Since the runner was assisted back to third, he must return back to
the base as a penalty.
Note: At any time a coach interferes with a play, it shall be a delayed dead ball until the play
ends. The runner who was aided shall be declared out and all subsequent outs will stand.
5. A batter hits a foul ball while a part of his foot is touching home plate. There is no
penalty since the ball was hit foul.
A) True
B) False
Note: Regardless of where the ball hit, if the batter hits a ball with any part of his foot
touching home plate, the batter shall be out.
6. With a runner on first, one out, and two strikes to the batter, the batter swings and
misses a pitch that hits their hand. The runner is attempting a steal at second and is
tagged out prior to reaching the base. What is the call?
A) Dead ball. The batter is awarded first for being hit by a pitch.
B) Foul ball. The hands are part of the bat. The runner must return to first.
C) Live ball. The batter is out with strike three and the runner is out on the tag.
D) Dead Ball. The batter is the only out.
Note: The ball becomes dead immediately once it hit the batter, so the runner could not
advance. Since the batter swung at the pitch and missed, that is the third strike and the second
out.
7. With the bases loaded and one out, the fifth batter in the inning hits a line drive to
the right field fence. The runners on second and third score, but the runner on first was
thrown out at the plate. The batter goes to third, but failed to touch first base. The play
was properly appealed.
The result of the play is that two runs score and the third out is the appeal of the batter
who missed first. Is this true or false?
A) True
B) False
Note: No runs can score if the third out is a force out or if the batter does not reach first.
When a third out is declared on an appeal play resulting in a force out, this would take
precedence if the enforcing of it would negate a score.
8. With two strikes, the pitcher throws an inside pitch that hits the batter. In his
attempt to get out of the way he swings the bat. What is the ruling?
A) It becomes dead and he gets first base
B) It is strike three and the batter is out
C) the batter is ejected from the game
D) since he swung and got hit at the same time, it is ruled no pitch and must be done over
Note: When the ball hits the batter, and even if an attempt is made to swing at it, it becomes
strike three and the batter is out.
9. An infield fly can be called if there are men on 1st and 2nd and one out and the
infielder catches a pop up standing on the outfield grass?
A) True
B) False
Note: Depending on how far out into the outfield the fielder goes (this is strictly an umpire's
judgement) an umpire may still call infield fly if the fielder is standing on the outfield grass.
10. With runners on first and second and no outs, the third batter in the inning hits a
high pop foul between home and first base with the first baseman losing sight of the ball
because of the sun. The ball lands on foul ground without being touched and rolls into
fair territory halfway between home and first base. The pitcher picks up the ball and
throws to the second baseman covering first base, who touches the runner with the ball
while the latter is off base.
What is the ruling?
A) Dead ball and foul ball. The batter is the only out due to the infield fly rule.
B) Foul ball.
C) Dead ball and fair ball. The batter and runner who was tagged are out.
D) Live ball and fair ball. The runner is the only out on the play.
Note: Fair ball. Even though the infield fly rule was not called, it is still in effect. The batter,
therefore, is out. The runner is also out.
11. With men on 1st and 3rd, a batter hits a ball that hits an umpire that is standing
behind the pitcher, but in front of the fielder. What is the ruling?
A) It is a dead ball, the batter gets 1st, the man on first gets 2nd and the man on 3rd
stays there.
B) It is a dead ball and everyone moves up one base.
C) It is a live ball as the umpire is part of the field.
D) It is a live ball, and the batter is awarded first base.
Note: If a fair ball touches an umpire working on the infield after it has bounded past, or
over, the pitcher, it is a dead ball.
12. Per SAA Rules, how often can a courtesy runner be used in a game?
A) A manager may use one as often as he wishes.
B) No more than 2 per inning may be used.
C) Only 1 per inning can be used.
D) Only 2 per game.
Note: Rule #35 of the SAA Rules states only 1 courtesy runner per inning.
13. The first baseman bobbles a ground ball hit to him. When he finally gets the ball,
he has to dive to the bag to beat the runner. With the ball in his glove the first baseman
tags the bag with his bare hand before the runner reaches first. Is the runner out?
A) Yes
B) No
Note: Even though the ball is in his glove, touching the bag with his bare hand, is just like
touching the bag with his foot. This only works with tagging the base. If you tried to tag a
runner with your bare hand, the runner would still be safe.
14. A batter swings and hits the ball. After laying down the bat and running to first,
the ball hits the bat in fair territory. What is the call on this play?
A) Dead ball. The Batter is out for hitting the ball a second time.
B) The ball is live. The batter is not out.
C) The ball remains live, but the batter is out for hitting the ball a second time.
D) The ball is ruled foul because a bat lying on the ground in the field is ruled as part of dead
ball territory.
Note: if the batter were to intentionally hit the ball a second time, then they would be ruled
out..
15. Which of the following SAA Rules is False?
A) Only 1 courtesy runner can be used per inning and will be at the discretion of the opposing
manager.
B) An Extra hitter may be added at any time during a game provided all fielding positions are
occupied.
C) A designated hitter is allowed instead of an extra hitter.
D) A protest of a game must be made immediately before the next pitch.
Note: A Designated hitter is not permitted.
16.Line drive over third base which the third baseman touches in foul territory while
standing in fair territory. Is this a foul or fair ball?
A) Foul ball
B) Fair ball
Note: A fair/foul ball batted ball in flight is where is THE BALL when it is first touched by the
defensive player. If THE BALL is over foul territory when 1st touched, it is a foul ball. If the
ball is over fair territory when1st touched, it is a fair ball. The position (fair or foul territory)
of the defensive player has NO EFFECT on what the call is.
17. Runner on 1st base, no outs, with the 1st baseman playing in front of the bag.
Next batter hits a line drive towards 1st that hits the runner that is on 1st base in fair
territory. Is this a live or dead ball?
A) Live ball
B) Dead ball
Note: if the 1st baseman was in front of the bag this would be a live ball and play would
continue. If the 1st baseman had been behind the bag this would have been a dead ball and all
runners that are forced, would advance 1 base. If the runner on 1st was in foul territory, it
would simply be a foul ball.
18. A S.A.A. playoff game is stopped in the middle of the 3rd inning due to rain and
play was never resumed due to the weather. Which of the following applies?
A) The game will be started over and played to its entirety on another date.
B) The game will be played from the point of the rain stoppage on another date.
C) The game will revert back to the score at the end of the 2nd inning and played from there
on another date.
D) The team leading at the point of the rain stoppage will be declared the winner.
Note: Per S.A.A. rules, any playoff game which is not considered a completed game, will be
started in its entirety. Any game which is considered an official game, will be suspended from
the point of stoppage and will be continued at a later date. (This rule does not pertain to
regular season games, only playoff games)
19. Is there a penalty for wearing metal spikes in a S.A.A. softball game?
A) No, metal spikes are allowed.
B) No, as long as the player changes them immediately.
C) Yes, the player is immediately ejected from the game.
D) Yes, the player is ejected from the game and given an additional 2 game suspension.
Note: Per S.A.A. rules, NO Metal spikes are allowed. The penalty for wearing metal spikes is
immediate ejection.
20. With a runner on first, the batter hits a ground ball to the first baseman who
steps on first and then tags the runner who has remained on first. Who is out?
A) Only the batter is out.
B) Only the runner is out.
C) Both the runner and the batter are out.
D) No one is out on the play.
Note: The runner is not out since the force play was removed when the first baseman stepped
on first to retire the batter. The batter is the only out.
21. With one out and a runner on third base, the batter hits a fly ball to right center
field. The ball goes off the center fielder's glove back into the air and the right fielder
makes the catch. After the ball went off the center fielder's glove, the runner from third
took off for home, before the right fielder made the catch. The team in the field appeals
the runner at third saying he left before the ball was caught. Is the runner out?
A) Yes
B) No
Note: As soon as the ball is touched, the runner is allowed to tag up. It does not matter when
the ball is actually caught; all the fielder has to do is touch it.
22. No runners on. Ground ball hit to first base, defensive player tries to field the ball, but at the
attempt the ball is touched in fair ball area and ricochets off his glove and goes foul to the orange
side of the base. Defensive player picks up the ball and touches the orange part of the base. Is the
runner out?
A) Yes
B) No
Note: Yes, the batter/runner is out. When the defensive player retrieves the fair ball in foul territory,
he is permitted to touch either bag, and the batter/runner is permitted to touch either bag. 9It is the
same set of circumstances as a routine or non-routine) throw that pulls the defensive player into foul
territory.