BCFOA - 2014 NFHS Football Rules Exam Part 1 Result Report For this years NFHS Football Rules Exam Part 1, 33 of approximately 92 rostered High School Officials throughout the province took the test. Out of the 100 questions asked 17 questions were answered correctly by everyone who participated (100% of us), 31 of the question were answered correct by 90 to 99% of us, 22 in the 80% bracket, 17 in the 70% bracket, 4 in the 60% bracket and 8 questions were only answered correctly by 59% and less of us. This report will highlight and help to explain the top ten questions that fell into the category of the most incorrectly answered questions by our participating High School Officials. Question 13. (57% correct) True or False...Initial force results from a carry, fumble, kick, pass, snap or muff? Correct answer is False. Rule Reference: 2-13-1..."Force is the result of energy exerted by a player which provides movement of the ball. The term force is used only in connection with the goal line and in only one direction i.e., from the field of play into the end zone. Initial force results from a carry, fumble, kick, pass or snap. After a fumble, kick, or backward pass has been grounded, a new force may result from a bat, an illegal kick or a muff." Question 41. (54% correct) True or False...After Team A has been set for at least one second, it is a foul if back A1 moves to a new back field position and sets for less than one second before the snap? Correct answer is True. Rule Reference: 2-39..."A shift is the action of one or more offensive players who, after a huddle or after taking set positions, move to a new set position before the ensuing snap", and 7-2-6..."After a huddle or shift all 11 players of Team A shall come to an absolute stop and shall remain stationary simultaneously without movement of hands, feet, head or body for at least one second before the snap. Question 42. (56% correct) True or False...If B1 clips A1 and B2 piles on after A2 is tackled, it is a multiple foul? Correct answer is False. Rule Reference: 2-16-2e..."Type of fouls are: Multiple- two or more live-ball fouls (other than non-player or unsportsmanlike) are committed during the same down by the same team at such a time that the offended team is permitted a choice of penalties", and 10-2-5..."Penalties for dead-ball fouls are administered separately and in the order of their occurrence. A dead-ball foul is not coupled with a live-ball foul or another dead-ball foul to create a double or multiple foul." Question 48. (60% correct) True or False...a punt may be used as a free kick following a fair catch? Correct answer is False. Rule Reference: 2-24-3..."A free kick is used for a kickoff, for a kick following a safety, and is used if a free kick is chosen following a fair catch or awarded fair catch." and 2-24-8..."A punt is a legal kick by a player who drops the ball and kicks it before it has touched the ground. A punt may be used for a free kick following a safety or for a scrimmage kick." Question 53. (60% correct) True or False...it is illegal participation if a replaced player attempts but fails to leave the field prior to the snap? Correct answer is False. Rule Reference: 3-7-4..."During a down a replaced player or substitute who attempts unsuccessfully to leave the field and who does not participate in or affect the play, constitutes an illegal substitution." Question 60. (59% correct) True or False...if a foul occurs during a running play, the basic enforcement spot is the spot where the related run ends? Correct answer is True. Rule Reference: 10-4-4..."The basic spot is the spot where the related run ends for a foul which occurs during a running play." Question 61. (60% correct) True or False...a foul that occurs simultaneously with the snap is an exception to the all-but-one enforcement principle? Correct answer is True. Rule Reference: Fund X-3a..."Any live-ball foul is penalized according to the all-but-one enforcement principle except: fouls which occur simultaneously with the snap." Question 72. (46% correct) True or False...on kicks entering R's end zone, the determination of force dictates wether it is a touchback or a safety? Correct answer is false. Rule Reference: 2-13-4a..."Force is not a factor on kicks going into R's end zone, since these kick are always a touchback regardless of who supplied the force." Questions 92. (57% correct) An act by an offensive or defensive player who initiates contact with the front of his helmet against an opponent who is not a runner is: (?) Correct answer is 'Butt Blocking'. Rule Reference: 2-20-1a..."Butt Blocking is an act by an offensive or defensive player who initiates contact against an who is not a runner with the front of his helmet." Question 100. (50% correct) With first and 10 from A's 10-yard line, A1 drops back into his end zone, where he is tackled by the face mask/ helmet opening and fumbles. The ball rolls out of bounds at A's 5-yard line. What is the ruling? Correct answer is: following penalty administration,cit will be A's ball first and 10 at A's 25-yard line. Rule Reference: 10-3-1 note..."The run(s) which precedes such legal or illegal kick, legal forward pass, backwards pass or fumble is (are) considered part of the action during a loose-ball play." and 10-3-1c..."A loose-ball play is action during a backward pass (including the snap), illegal kick or fumble made by Team A from in or behind the neutral zone and prior to a change of team possession." and 10-4-2b..."The basic spot is the previous spot for a foul which occurs during a loose ball play." Full results of your exam can be viewed through the NFHS Exam System at exams.nfhs.org and logging on to your personal testing account. Please feel free to contact any one of your BCFOA Education Committee members if you have any questions with regards to your exam results or any other rule questions you might have.
© Copyright 2025 Paperzz