2016-2017 CBOA RULES TEST – CLASSIFICATION B 1 Technical fouls include all but which of the following? (Rule Ref: 4-19-5, RBT p. 192-193) Single Answer a. A noncontact b. A foul by a foul by a player when non-player. the ball is live. c. A contact foul d. A contact foul when the ball is live. when the ball is dead, except a foul committed by an airborne shooter. 2 A5 makes a nice move and scores a two-point goal. Thinking that a foul should have been ruled, A5 complains loudly and is assessed a technical foul. While the official reports the technical foul on A5, Team A’s coach is whistled for a technical foul. How many free throws does Team B shoot and where is the ball put into play after shooting the free throws? (Rule Ref: 7-5-6a, 10 Penalties ? 3, 10-3-6a, 10-4-1a, 10-4-1 Penalties ) Single Answer a. 2 FTs and a throw-in along the endline. b. 4 FTs for Team B and a designated-spot throw-in at the division line opposite the table for Team B. c. 4 FTs for d. 4 FTs and the Team B followed by a ball put in at the point non-designated spot of interruption. throw-in along the endline for Team B. 3 Which of the following is true if Team A is assessed a technical foul before the game starts? (Rule Ref: 4-3-3b, 6-4-1, 10-5 Penalty, RBT 6.4.1A p. 87) Single Answer a. A jump ball will follow the free throw(s). b. Team A will c. Team B will d. Team B will have the possession have the possession shoot one free throw. arrow that follows the arrow that follows the throw-in. throw-in. 4 Which of the following is true of a flagrant foul? (Rule Ref: 4-19-4, RBT p. 193-194) Single Answer a. It may be personal or technical; It is possible to have a non-contact flagrant technical foul. b. It’s possible to c. It is possible have a contact to have a non-contact flagrant personal foul; flagrant personal foul. It’s possible to have a contact flagrant technical foul. d. Both a and b. 5 Just after the opening tip, it is discovered that three Team A starters are wearing different numbers on their jerseys than the numbers indicated in the scorebook. What is the penalty? (Rule Ref: 3-2-2c, RBT 3.2.2A p. 37, 4-19-13, 10-1-2c Penalty, RBT 10.1.2 p. 38) Single Answer a. No technical b. Team A is c. All three fouls are charged. charged with three Team A starters are direct technical fouls. given a technical foul. d. Team A is charged with one administrative-technical foul and fix numbers in book. 6 If a team fails to occupy the team-member’s bench to which it is assigned, what is the result? (Rule Ref: 1-13-1, 10-1-4, 10-1 Penalty-Section 1, RBT p. 235) Single Answer a. Team technical foul. b. Administrative technical foul. c. Technical charged to the head coach. d. No penalty. 7 A1 steals the ball from B2 and scores on a breakaway dunk. After dunking the ball, A1 hangs on the ring while doing a “chin up.” There was no chance of injury to A1. What kind of foul has occurred and does it count toward individual and team-foul counts? (Rule Ref: 4-19-13, 10-4-3, RBT p. 241, RBT 10.4.3C p. 242) Single Answer a. A direct technical foul is charged to A1 and counts toward team fouls. b. An indirect c. An indirect technical foul is technical foul is charged to Team A’s charged to A1 and counts toward team head coach. fouls. d. There is no foul and play should resume with Team A getting the ball. 8 A technical foul on the team trainer: (Rule Ref: 10-5-1 Penalty, RBT 10.5.1A p. 249-250) Single Answer a. Also results in an ejection of the head coach. b. Also results in a direct technical foul to the head coach. c. Also results in indirect technical foul to the head coach. d. Can never been called on a team trainer. 9 Multiple Team A members on the bench refuse to sit during a live ball. Which of the following are true? (Rule Ref: 4-19-13, 10-5-4 Penalty, RBT p. 251-252) Single Answer a. A single technical foul is charged. b. An indirect technical foul is charged to the head coach. c. A technical foul is charged to each offender. d. Both a and b. 10 Which of these technical fouls cause a direct technical foul to be charged to the team’s head coach? (Rule Ref: 10-6-2, 10-6 Penalty, RBT 10.6.2B p. 48, RBT p. 54) Single Answer a. The head coach b. The assistant c. Bench failing to replace a coach disrespectfully personnel being disqualified player addressing an official. assessed a technical within 15 seconds. foul. d. None. 11 A player strikes the backboard with his or her hand. What is the result? (Rule Ref: 4-6, 10-4-4b, RBT p. 243) Single Answer a. Goaltending. b. A legal play if c. Basket attempting to block a interference. shot. Or a technical foul if the player intentionally strikes the backboard. d. Both b and c. 12 Team B is awarded a designated-spot throw-in along the endline. A1 extends his or her arms over the endline such that part of the forearms, hands, and ball are entirely on the inbounds side of the boundary line. B2 slaps A1 on the wrist and dislodges the ball. (Rule Ref: 9-2-10 Note) Single Answer a. No foul. A boundary plane warning is given to Team B. b. Personal foul c. Stop play d. Intentional on B2 since the ball immediately and ask foul. A1 is awarded was inside the A1 to back up so this two free throws and boundary line. does not occur. Team A will make the ensuing throw-in. 13 A1 is making a throw-in at A’s endline. A2, A3, A4 and A5 line up side-by-side at the free-throw line and parallel to the endline. B1 and B2 then request a spot in between A’s players on the free-throw line. (Rule Ref: 7-6-5, RBT 7.6.5 p. 122) Single Answer a. Acknowledge b. Give Team B c. Grant B1 and d. Ignore B1 and B1 and B2’s request, a timeout. B2’s request. B2’s request. but deny it. 14 While A1 is holding the ball inbounds, B2 reaches to slap the ball away, but misses the ball and slaps A1?s hand while it is in contact with the basketball. What is the result? (Rule Ref: 4-24-2, RBT p. 211) Single Answer a. Held ball. b. Common foul c. Legal play, no d. Personal foul on B2. foul. on B2. 15 Team A has the alternating-possession arrow to start the second half. Thrower A1 steps over the boundary line and onto inbound territory prior to releasing the ball on a throw-in. What is the result? (Rule Ref: 4-42-5c, 6-4-4, 6-4-5, 9-2-5, RBT p. 86-87, RBT p. 105-106) Single Answer a. Team A receives a throw-in. b. The c. Team B alternating-possession receives a throw-in arrow remains with and the arrow stays Team A. with Team A. d. Team A has violated thus resulting in the arrow being switched to Team B and Team B receives a throw-in no longer for the alternating possession but instead for the throw-in violation by Team A. 16 Team A is awarded a throw-in by the alternating-possession process. Before the throw-in is completed, B5 is called for a foul on A4. It is Team B’s fourth team foul and Team A is awarded a designated-spot throw-in nearest the foul. Does the alternating-possession arrow change in favor of Team B after the foul is committed? (Rule Ref: 6-4-5, RBT 6.4.5A comment p. 88) Single Answer a. No, the b. Yes, the possession arrow will possession arrow will not be changed. The be in favor of Team arrow will still be in B. Team A’s favor. c. Yes, the d. None of the possession arrow will above. change when the throw-in for the foul is completed. 17 Which of the following are true while A1 is holding the ball out of bounds for a throw-in? (Rule Ref: 4-12-2d, 6-1-2b, 9-2-4, RBT p. 103) Single Answer a. A1 is in player b. Team A has control. five seconds for the throw-in to touch an inbounds player. c. The ball is d. None of the live; Team A is in above. team control; A1 has five seconds to release the ball. 18 Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in after a held ball. A1 holds the ball through the endline plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his or her hands on the ball and A1 cannot pull it back. (Rule Ref: 4-42-5, RBT 6.4.5B p. 107) Single Answer a. Held ball. b. Technical foul c. Plane d. Held ball. Team A retains arrow on Team B for violation warning on Team B now has the since the throw-in making contact with Team B. arrow and is awarded never legally ended. the ball. the resulting throw-in. 19 During an alternating-possession throw-in by A1, B2 intentionally kicks the throw-in pass. Which of the following are true? (Rule Ref: 4-42-5, 5-9-4, 6-4-4, 7-5-2, RBT 4.42.5 p. 104) Single Answer a. Team A shall b. Team A shall c. The clock d. All of the have the next receive a throw-in at should not start when above. alternating possession the spot nearest to the ball was touched throw-in. where the kicked ball during the kick. occurred. 20 After a successful basket by A, Team B may handle the ensuing throw-in in the following legal manner: (Rule Ref: 7-5-7, RBT p. 114-115) Single Answer a. Team B may b. Team B must c. Any Team B only have two players conform to the player can move out of bounds at once. designated-spot along the endline throw-in guidelines. while holding or bouncing the ball. d. Team B may bounce the ball off the back wall directly to a teammate inbounds if done within five seconds. 21 All of the following are situations when the ball is at the disposal of the thrower-in, except: (Rule Ref: 4-4-7 RBT p. 157) Single Answer a. Handed to the b. Released by player. the administering official when bouncing the ball to the player. c. Caught by the d. Placed at a player after being spot on the floor. bounced to him or her. 22 All are true to start a dribble, except: (Rule Ref: 4-15-3, 4-44-3c, RBT p. 167, RBT p. 186) Single Answer a. The ball may b. The ball must c. The pivot foot d. None of the be pushed to the be released before the may be lifted, but not above. floor. dribbler lifts his or returned to the her pivot foot. playing court before the ball is released to start the dribble. 23 During an alternating-possession throw-in by A1, B2 intentionally kicks the throw-in pass. (Rule Ref: 4-42-5, 6-4-4, RBT p. 86, RBT p. 106) Single Answer a. The AP arrow b. The AP arrow c. The AP arrow d. None of the should now point should stay pointed should change toward above. toward Team B’s toward Team A’s Team B’s basket prior basket. basket. to the throw-in and then be changed toward Team A’s when the ball is kicked. 24 Which of the following may be worn without any sort of special waiver from a governing body? (Rule Ref: 3-5-3, 3-5-4e, 3-5-6, RBT p. 29) Single Answer a. Arm or leg b. Long-sleeve compression sleeves. undershirts that are the same color as the predominant color of the jersey. c. Full-length leg tights that are the same color as the predominant color of the jersey. d. All the above. 25 Which of the following are duties of the timer? (Rule Ref: 2-12-1, 2-12-2, RBT p. 131) Single Answer a. Notify the b. Notify the referee more than captains when play is three minutes before about to begin at the the second half is to start of the game. start; and, signal the scorers three minutes before starting time. c. Stop the game d. None of the clock after a above. successful field goal with 59.9 seconds or less in the game or any extra period. 26 Which of the following are true if B2, who is in a marked lane space, disconcerts free thrower A1? (Rule Ref: 9-1-3c Penalties 2b, 4d, RBT p. 159) Single Answer a. A substitute throw is awarded if the free throw is made. b. A substitute throw is awarded if the free throw is missed. c. A substitute throw is awarded if free thrower A1 violates following the disconcertion. d. Both b and c. 27 B2 fouls A1 on an unsuccessful try and is replaced. When may B2 re-enter the game? (Rule Ref: 3-3-4, RBT p. 48) Single Answer a. Before A1’s b. After A1’s c. If B2’s head first free throw; or, second free throw, if coach calls a timeout. before A1’s second successful. free throw in a threeshot situation. d. During the first opportunity to substitute after the clock has properly started. 28 What is the result if Team A?s throw-in lodges between the basket and the backboard? (Rule Ref: 9-2-8) Single Answer a. No violation. The AP arrow determines which team gets the ensuing throw-in. b. Team A has committed a throw-in violation and the ensuing throw-in is awarded to Team B. c. Team A has d. None of the committed a throw-in above. violation and the ensuing throw-in is awarded based on the AP arrow. 29 While A1 is dribbling near the 28-foot mark outside the three-point line, B3 is guilty of a holding foul for impeding the movement of cutting A3 near free-throw lane line opposite of where A1 is dribbling. Where is the ensuing throw-in? Single Answer a. Nearest to the b. On the spot where A1 was endline nearest and dribbling along the on the side of the sideline. court where A1 was dribbling. c. On the endline d. On the nearest where A3 was sideline nearest where fouled. A3 was fouled. 30 Team A is issued a technical foul for an excessive timeout. How is play resumed? (Rule Ref: RBT p. 237) Single Answer a. Team A is not b. Team A is c. Team B granted a timeout. awarded a timeout shoots 2 FTs and play even though it will be is resumed with a an excessive timeout. throw-in for Team B at the opposite division line. d. Both b and c. 31 The difference between the penalty administration for an intentional personal foul and a direct technical foul includes which of the following? (Rule Ref: 7-5-4b, 7-5-6a, RBT p. 193) Single Answer a. The player who must shoot free throws. b. The spot c. Whether the where the ball will be foul counts toward thrown in after the the team’s bonus. free throws. d. Both a and b. 32 After Team A scores in the last 10 seconds of the second half and before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a throw-in, A1 grabs B2 in an effort to have a foul called and save time. A1 is whistled for an intentional technical foul and Team B is awarded two free throws. Where will the ball be put in play for a designated spot throw-in? (Rule Ref: 4-19-3, 7-5-6, 10-4-7, 4-19-5c, 10-4 Penalty, RBT p. 117) Single Answer a. Team B’s choice. b. At the c. Along the division line opposite endline for a nonthe table. designated spot throw-in. d. At a designated spot nearest to where the intentional technical foul occurred. 33 Which are true of successive timeouts? (Rule Ref:4-43-2, 5-11-7, RBT 5.11.7A p. 292) Single Answer a. They must be b. They occur c. There is no called by the same when granted to such thing as a team to be considered either team prior to successive timeout. successive. the clock starting. They shall not be granted after the expiration of playing time for the second half or expiration of any extra period. d. Both b and c. 34 Team A requests a 60-second timeout, which is granted by the official. After 30 seconds have passed, Team A is ready to play. Team B wants to use the entire timeout. Can the length of the timeout be shortened? (Rule Ref: 5-11-2, RBT 5.11.2 p. 293) Single Answer a. Yes, if Team A is ready to play. Team B will not be able to use the entire timeout. b. Yes, Team A c. No, Team B d. No, Team B is must declare before can use 90 seconds if entitled to use the the timeout it only they would like. entire timeout. would like to use 30 seconds. 35 Which of the following are true of the length of each extra period? (Rule Ref: 5-7-3, RBT p. 294) Single Answer a. The length is b. The length is c. The length is d. The length is two minutes. three minutes. four minutes. five minutes. 36 No timeout is charged in which of the following? (Rule Ref: 5-8-4, 5-11-4 Exception B, RBT 5.8.4B p. 275) Single Answer a. A bleeding player is able to resolve the blood situation during a 20second time period. b. When a timeout is specifically requested to rectify a correctable error and that error is rectified. c. When a timeout is specifically requested to rectify a timing error and that error is not rectified. d. When a timeout is specifically requested to rectify a correctable error and that error is not rectified. 37 A1’s legal throw-in is bouncing untouched in Team A’s backcourt. An official improperly whistles a timeout for Team B. Is that timeout request granted? (Rule Ref: RBT 5.8.3E p. 281-282) Single Answer a. Team B’s timeout is granted. b. Team B’s timeout is not granted. c. An inadvertent whistle must be ruled. d. Play shall resume as if no whistle went off. 38 Which of the following is not accurate? (Rule Ref: 3-3-4, 3-3-5, 3-3-6, 3-3-7, 5-8-2a, RBT 3.3.5B p. 27, RBT p. 41, RBT 3.3.6B p. 43, RBT 3.3.7B p. 44) Single Answer a. A3 is injured and Team A’s coach sends A7 into the game to replace A3. A7 checks in for A3 and is beckoned into the game. Then Team A’s coach calls a timeout to keep A3 in the game. b. After repeatedly being asked to keep his or her jersey tucked in, A1 again has the jersey untucked and an official directs A1 to leave the game telling the coach A1 must be replaced. c. A4 is injured on the court when bench personnel and Team A’s trainer go out to look at A4. In order to keep A4 in the game Team A’s coach calls a timeout and A4 is ready to go out the conclusion of the timeout. d. During a deadball period A1 is noticed to be bleeding and the official directs A1 to leave the game, asking Team A’s head coach whether he or she would care to substitute for A1 or call a timeout to attempt to get A1’s bleeding stopped. 39 When is it permissible for a player who has blood on his or her uniform to remain in the game while blood exists on that uniform? (Rule Ref: 3-3-7, RBT p. 41-42) Single Answer a. When an b. When medical c. Never. If the d. None of the official determines personnel determine uniform has any above. the blood has not the blood has not amount of blood on it, saturated the uniform. saturated the uniform. it shall not be worn. 40 At the end of the halftime intermission, Team A has yet to inform the scorer of its starters for the second half. What is the result? (Rule Ref: 3-3-1a Note, RBT p. 45-46) Single Answer a. Team technical foul to Team A. b. Administrative technical foul to Team A. c. No penalty; d. No penalty; the five players who the original five ended the first half starters shall start the shall start the second second half. half. 41 When can a three-second violation occur? (Rule Ref: 4-12-1, 4-12-2d, 9-7-1, RBT p. 181) Single Answer a. When the ball b. When the ball c. During an d. When a try is is in the team’s is out-of-bounds interrupted dribble in in flight. backcourt. during a throw-in. the team’s frontcourt. 42 In which of these situations may A5 be called for a three-second violation while A5 is standing in the lane in his or her frontcourt? (Rule Ref: 4-12-6, 9-7-1, RBT 9.7.1 p. 181) Single Answer a. During a throw-in by A1. c. When A1 has d. None of the b. When A1 has possession of the ball in possession of the ball above. Team A’s frontcourt; in Team A’s While the ball is loose backcourt. following A1’s interrupted dribble. 43 A3 is standing with one foot on the lane line and the other outside of the three-second restricted area while the ball is in Team A’s control in the frontcourt. A3 lifts the foot that is on the lane line and moves it beyond the plane of that line. However, that foot is again placed back into the lane without first touching the floor outside the lane. (Rule Ref: 9-7-2, RBT 9.7.2 p. 181-182) Single Answer a. A new threeb. There is no c. Since this is second count is three-second count in an offensive move it started. the frontcourt. should be ignored. d. The count is continued even though neither foot is in the restricted area at that point. Merely lifting the foot from the restricted space is an attempt to evade the rule. It is a violation. 44 A2’s three-point attempt is in flight when B3 excessively swings an arm or elbow. The arm or elbow does not make contact with any player on the court. The official immediately sounds the whistle for B3’s violation. The try is successful. Does A2’s basket count? (Rule Ref: 6-7-9 Exception d, RBT p. 155, 9-13-1, RBT 9.13.1 p. 156) Single Answer a. A2’s basket can only be scored provided it goes in before the official blows the whistle. b. The official c. A2’s basket is d. Score A2’s should delay the canceled. basket. whistle until the shot is successful or unsuccessful. 45 With Team A leading by six points, which of the following are true when B1 is fouled on a successful try so near the expiration of time in the fourth quarter that the timer is unable to stop the clock after the foul and the ball is in the air but before time expires. (Rule Ref: 5-6-2 Exception 1, 3, RBT p. 65) Single Answer a. B1’s goal is awarded. No free throw is shot. b. B1 is awarded c. B1 is awarded d. B1’s goal is two free throws. one free throw. cancelled. 46 After obtaining initial legal guarding position, the guard may move in which of the below directions when contact occurs? (Rule Ref: 4-23-3c, RBT p. 139) Single Answer a. Laterally. b. Obliquely. c. Backward. d. All the above. 47 Which of the following are true in regard to establishing a legal screening position? (Rule Ref: 4-40-2, 4-40-3, RBT p. 217-219) Single Answer a. The screener b. Time and may face any direction. distance are not relevant. c. The width of d. All of the the screener’s stance is above. not relevant. 48 When is a screener allowed to be moving even though contact may result with the opponent being screened? (Rule Ref: 4-40-2c, 4-40-6, RBT p. 217-219) Single Answer a. When initially setting the screen on a moving opponent who is moving in a different direction than the screener. b. When initially setting the screen on a stationary opponent who cannot see the screener. c. After initially setting the screen, the screener moves in the same direction and path as the opponent and then slows down or stops. d. When initially setting the screen on a stationary opponent who can see the screener. 49 Which of the following is true in regard to defenders guarding near a boundary line? (Rule Ref: 4-23-2a, 4-23-3a, RBT 4.23.3B p. 140) Single Answer a. A guard may move laterally, obliquely, and toward an opponent to maintain position when contact occurs. b. After obtaining legal guarding position, the defender may maintain legal guarding position with one foot on the playing court and one foot off the floor above a boundary line. c. A player who goes out of bounds under normal play must return both feet to the playing court before being able to regain inbound status. d. To obtain initial legal guarding position, the defender may have one foot on the playing court and one foot touching a boundary line. 50 Which of the following causes the principle of verticality to not be in effect for a defender? (Rule Ref: 4-45-1, 4-45-2, RBT p. 206-207) Single Answer a. Legal b. The defensive c. The defender d. None of the guarding position was player moves laterally jumps vertically after above. after having gained a never legally obtaining legal legal guarding position guarding position. obtained. and is run into by the dribbler. 51 Which are true of correcting bookkeeping or timing errors? (Rule Ref: 2-11-11, 5-10, RBT p. 278, 282-283) Single Answer a. A timing error must be corrected in the half or extra period in which it occurred, and; a bookkeeping mistake can be corrected at any time until the referee approves the final score. b. A timing error can be corrected at any time until referee approves final score, and; a bookkeeping mistake must be corrected in half or extra period in which it occurred. c. Both a and b. d. Neither a or b. 52 The head coach may make a request to the official timer to alert the officials to determine if which of the following may have occurred? (Rule Ref: 5-8-4, 10-6-1c, RBT p. 275) Single Answer a. A correctable b. A technical error; a timing mistake; foul on the opposing a scoring mistake; and, coach. an AP mistake. c. An intentional or flagrant foul. d. Both a and b. 53 All of the following are ruled as correctable errors, except: (Rule Ref: 2-10-1, RBT p. 271) Single Answer a. Failure to award b. Erroneously a merited FT; and, awarding the ball to the permitting a wrong wrong team for a throwplayer to attempt a FT. in; and, making a field goal in the wrong basket. d. None of the c. Attempting a free throw at the wrong above. basket; and, erroneously counting or cancelling a score. 54 A3 is awarded a 1-and-1 after being fouled. Team B is granted a timeout prior to the free-throw administration. Upon return from the timeout, the administering official incorrectly tells both teams, “two shots.” A3 misses the free throw and the ball is not rebounded. All players remain standing along the free-throw lane lines motionless in anticipation of another free throw. The officials then realize their error. Which team gets the ball? (Rule Ref: 4-36-2c, 6-4-3f, RBT 2.10.1H p. 273) Single Answer a. Team A because they had been getting most of the missed free-throw rebounds in the game. b. Team B because opponents of the free throw shooting team usually get the rebound anyways. c. Use the alternating-possession arrow to determine which team gets the ensuing throw-in. d. The officials should wait to see who gets the ball and not stop the game. 55 Two minutes into an overtime period, the scorer notifies the officials that a scoring error had been made in the second half. Team A was not correctly awarded a point and should have won the game in regulation with no overtime period being necessary. What shall the officials do? (Rule Ref: 2-11-11, 5-7-4, RBT 5.7.4 p. 282) Single Answer a. Do not add one b. Resume play in c. Replay the point to Team A’s score overtime with the time overtime period from for the point that was on the game clock the beginning. missed. unchanged and the pointed added. d. Stop play immediately declare Team A the winner as the overtime should not have started. 56 A1 is fouled but erroneously is not awarded free throws even though the bonus is in effect. Team A is given a throw-in, and after the successful throw-in, A2 and B3 are called for a held ball. The error is discovered during the dead ball that follows the held ball. The possession arrow favors Team B. How is play resumed? (Rule Ref: 2-10-1a, 2-10-2, 2-10-6, RBT 2.10.1D, p. 272) Single Answer a. Play resumes b. It is too late to c. A1 is given a with the result of correct the error. 1-and-1 free-throw A1’s free throws. attempt with the players occupying the positions on the lane. d. A1 is given a 1-and-1 free-throw attempt with the lane cleared followed by a throw-in by Team B. 57 When must erroneously counting or canceling a score be corrected? (Rule Ref: 2-10-1e, 2-10-2, 2-10-3, RBT p. 271) Single Answer a. It cannot be corrected. b. At any time c. If the clock before the final score was not running, no has been approved. later than during the first dead ball after the clock has been properly started. d. Before the game clock properly starts. 58 B3 commits a common foul on A3. It is Team B’s seventh foul but the scorer fails to recognize it and the ball is awarded to Team A. A quick basket is scored by Team A and the scorer then sounds the horn to notify the officials of the error. (Rule Ref: 2-10-1a, 2-10-2, 2-10-5, 2-10-6, RBT 2.10.1D p. 272) Single Answer a. It is too late to b. Alternatingc. Play will correct the error. possession arrow after resume with the result the free throws. of the bonus free throws awarded to A3. d. Award A3 a bonus FT with no players on lane and the basket counts. Award Team B the ball for a throw-in. 59 If an official erroneously awards a goal on a basket-interference ruling, when must the error be corrected? (Rule Ref: 2-10-1e, 2-10-2, RBT 2.10.1I p. 274) Single Answer a. The error must be corrected immediately. b. At any time c. During the d. No later than prior to the final score second dead ball after during the first dead being approved. the clock is properly ball after the clock is started. properly started. 60 When there is a correctable error for awarding of an unmerited free throw, which activity during that unmerited free throw is canceled? (Rule Ref: 2-10-1b, 2-10-4, RBT 2.10.4A p. 276) Single Answer a. A common foul. b. A technical foul. c. An intentional foul. d. A flagrant foul. 61 During a dunk attempt by A1, the net flips the ball out basket while the ball is completely below the ring but not having passed through the net. Is this a successful field goal? (Rule Ref: 5-1-1, 1-10-1, RBT p. 59, RBT p. 16) Single Answer a. Yes, a successful field goal occurs when the entire ball pass beneath the ring. b. Yes, a dunk attempt shall be successful provided player releases ball and it passes through ring. c. No, to be a successful field goal, the ball must pass completely through the basket, which includes the net. d. Both a and b. 62 The officials are notified that B5 has fouled out. The ruling official notifies the coach and then instructs the timer to sound the warning horn. When the second horn sounds the coach has which option? (Rule Ref: 2-12-5, 10-6-2, RBT p. 54) Single Answer a. The coach b. The coach can now can substitute the request a timeout replacement player in, before substituting a without penalty, replacement player. provided it is within a reasonable time frame after the second horn. c. The coach should be reminded that a replacement player is needed or a technical foul will be issued. d. The coach has exceeded the allotted time to have a replacement player put in without penalty. To resume play, a technical foul must assessed and a replacement player is permitted. 63 Prior to the start of the game, Team A is assessed a technical foul for failing to have the roster, included starters, in the scorebook before the 10-minute mark of warm-ups. That technical foul is classified as: (Rule Ref: 10-1-1, RBT p. 233) Single Answer a. A team b. An c. A team d. An administrative technical technical foul. Loss of administrative technical foul. No coaching box. technical foul. No loss of coaching box. foul. Loss of coaching box. loss of coaching box. 64 During the introductions of the away team, the officials notice B5 wearing a white undershirt while the rest of the team has black undershirts on. During the home-team introductions, the officials notify the coach that only one color undershirt can be worn and must be matching. B5 takes the jersey off on the court to correct the situation. How should the officials handle this? (Rule Ref: 10-5-1h, 10-5 Penalty, RBT p. 249, RBT p. 251) Single Answer a. There is no penalty for this occurrence. b. Officials should be proactive and remind the coach that any corrections must be done in the locker room if it requires a jersey removal. However, when a jersey is removed within the visual confines of the court, a player-technical foul is assessed and that team’s head coach loses the coaching box. c. Officials should be proactive and remind the coach that any corrections must be done in the locker room if it requires a jersey removal. However, when a jersey is removed within the visual confines of the court, a bench-technical foul is assessed and that team’s head coach loses the coaching box. d. The officials should be proactive and remind the coach that any corrections must be done in the locker room if it requires a jersey removal. However, when a jersey is removed within the visual confines of the court, a player -technical foul is assessed and that team’s head coach can use the coaching box. 65 A player enters the game with a logo on each sleeve of the undershirt. What is the penalty? (Rule Ref: 3-5-6, RBT p. 32) Single Answer a. There is no b. The logos are c. Only one penalty. Wearing an only legal if they visible logo is undershirt with logos meet the required size permitted and is permitted. requirements. therefore the undershirt cannot be worn. However, there is no penalty. d. Only one visible logo is permitted and therefore the undershirt cannot be worn. A technical foul should be assessed to the head coach for failing to ensure all team members were properly equipped. 66 A home-team photographer is standing five feet from the endline along the wall within the free-throw lane lines extended. Is this allowed? (Rule Ref: 1-20, RBT p. 293) Single Answer a. Yes, a photographer may stand in that area provided they are more than three feet from the endline. b. No, a photographer may not stand in that area. However, there is no penalty. Have the photographer moved to an area outside of the FT lane lines. c. No, a photographer may not stand in that area and a team-technical foul should be assessed to the home team. d. No, a photographer may not stand in that area and an administrativetechnical foul should be assessed to the home team. 67 Where is an arrow indicator that indicates the alternating possession direction required to be located? (Rule Ref: 1-16, RBT p. 20) Single Answer a. At the scorer’s b. On the table. scoreboard. c. The d. There is no possession arrow can such requirement. be at the table or the scoreboard. 68 Which are true of coaching boxes? (Rule Ref: 1-13-2 Note, RBT p. 18) Single Answer a. They are a maximum of 14 feet in length. b. They are a maximum of 28 feet in length. c. They are only d. None of the allowed for subabove. varsity games. 69 What edges of the endlines and sidelines define the inbounds and out-of-bounds areas of the boundary lines? (Rule Ref: 4-9-2, RBT p. 11) Single Answer a. Inside. b. Outside. c. The lines are planes ceiling to floor. d. None of the above. 70 The referee shall not permit any team member to participate if in the referee’s judgment they are wearing any items that constitute a safety concern. (Rule Ref: 2-4-5, 3-5-1, RBT p. 26) Single Answer a. True. b. True, players c. False, players d. False, players who wear 2 different who wear tape over wearing earnings is length sleeves should their earnings would allowed. be allowed. be allowed. 71 A team shall not use electronic audio and/or video devices to review a decision of the game officials. (Rule Ref: 10-1-3, RBT 10.1.3 p. 234) Single Answer a. True, electronic and/or video devices can only be used for coaching and statistical purposes. c. False, the d. False, b. True, however it could be used if the officials may agree to electronic devices can game is being put on view the video if they be used. TV by a 3rd party and would like. agreed upon before the game by both coaches. 72 When is a warning horn sounded? (Rule Ref: 2-12-4, 2-12-5, RBT 2.12.5 p. 292) Single Answer a. With five secs b. With 10 secs c. With 10 secs d. With 15 secs remaining to replace a remaining in a 30-sec remaining in a 60-sec remaining in a 30-sec timeout, a 60-sec disqualified player. timeout. timeout. timeout or an intermission. To start the interval on for replacing a disqualified or injured player and for a player directed to leave the game. 73 When may cheerleaders or other entertainment be allowed on the court? (Rule Ref: 5-11-2, 5-11-3, RBT p. 293) Single Answer a. During both a b. During a 6030- or 60-second second timeout. timeout. c. During a 30second timeout. d. There are no regulations. 74 When should an official use a visible count? (Rule Ref: 2-7-9, RBT p. 301) Single Answer a. 3-second count. b. Free-throw count. c. 30-second timeout. d. All of the above. 75 When does the officials’ jurisdiction end? (Rule Ref: 2-2-4, RBT p. 304) Single Answer a. The officials’ b. After all c. After the jurisdiction never officials have left the referee has left the ends. visual confines of the confines of the playing area. playing area. d. After the final horn has sounded. 76 Which of the following are true of a closely guarded situation? (For CIF, boys only) (Rule Ref: 4-10, RBT p. 140-141) Single Answer a. It can only occur in a team’s frontcourt; it can occur when a player is dribbling the ball inbounds; and, it can occur when a player is holding the ball inbounds. b. The maximum guarding distance is 3 feet; and, the count continues when different defenders continuously guard the opponent as long as maximum guarding distance is maintained. d. Both a and c. c. The maximum guarding distance is 6 feet; and, the count continues when different defenders continuously guard the opponent as long as maximum guarding distance is maintained. 77 Which is true of continuous motion? (Rule Ref: 4-11-1, RBT p. 223-224) Single Answer a. It ends when the shot is either made or has missed. b. It only applies c. It never d. It applies if the player is in the applies when a player when the shooter is air when fouled. is fouled on the floor. tapping the ball toward the goal when fouled. 78 Which of the following is true of fighting? (Rule Ref: 4-18, RBT p. 227) Single Answer a. It can only b. It can only c. It results in a d. Only players occur when the ball is occur when the ball is flagrant foul. can be penalized for live. dead. fighting. 79 Which of these describe incidental contact? (Rule Ref: 4-27-2, 4-27-3, 4-27-4, 4-40-7, RBT p. 205-206) Single Answer a. Screens that are set outside the visual field of the opponent allow an opponent to make inadvertent contact with the screen, provided the screener is not displaced if he or she has the ball. b. Contact that c. Contact with d. All of the does not hinder the an opponent that is above. opponent from permitted and does participating in not constitute a foul. normal defensive or offensive movements. 80 What is illegal personal contact that impedes the progress of an opponent with or without the ball? (Rule Ref: 4-7-1, RBT p. 207) Single Answer a. Pushing. b. Charging. c. Blocking. d. Player-control foul. 81 A1 has the ball for the first of a one-and-one free-throw attempt. Prior to A1 releasing the ball, A4, who is in a marked lane space, does a head fake in an attempt to get B2, who is also in a marked lane space, into the lane. The fake works and B2 enters the lane before A1 releases the ball. What is the result? (Rule Ref: 9-1-3b, 9-1 Penalty, RBT 9.1.3C p. 161) Single Answer a. A1 will get a b. A4 is called c. A double d. B2 is called substitute free throw for a violation. No violation is called on for a violation. if the first attempt is points can be scored. A4 and B2. unsuccessful. Team B ball for throw-in. 82 A1 has been awarded two FTs. During the first attempt, B2 backs out of a marked lane space just before A1 releases the ball. However, after releasing ball and before it hits the ring or backboard, A1 steps on the FT line. The attempt is successful. (Rule Ref: 9-1 Penalty 4b, RBT 9.1.3G p. 162) Single Answer a. There is no violation(s) on the first free-throw attempt. b. Only the first c. Ignore the violation in this case free-throw violation should be penalized. by B2 because the free-throw attempt was successful. d. A double FT violation occurred, the first FT is voided and play is continued with A1’s second FT. 83 Who shall shoot the free throws if A1 is fouled and is injured resulting in A1 being required to leave the game, but there are no Team A substitutes available because the other Team A players who are not currently in the game had been previously disqualified? (Rule Ref: 8-2, RBT 8.2A p. 93) Single Answer a. Any of the b. Any of the c. The coach of d. A1 should other 4 Team A disqualified Team A Team B gets the shot the free throws. players currently in players. choice. the game selected by Team A captain or head coach. 84 The first marked lane spaces may be occupied as follows: (Rule Ref: 8-1-4c, RBT 8.1.3 p. 95) Single Answer a. By either team. b. These spots can be empty. c. Opponents of the free thrower must occupy those two marked spaces unless the FTs are for a technical foul or intentional foul. d. By a teammate of the shooter if one of the opponents does not want that space. 85 During a free throw when the lane spaces may be occupied, the following guidelines are in effect: (Rule Ref: 8-1-4a, RBT 8.1.4 p. 96) Single Answer a. Defense can have as many spots as 5 spots if the offensive chooses not to use them. b. A total of 8 players are allowed in the marked spaces: 4 defensive and 4 offensive. c. A maximum of 6 players may occupy the marked spaces, 4 defensive and 2 offensive. d. A total of 7 players are allowed in the marked spaces, 4 defensive and 3 offensive. 86 After completing the proper sequence when making a foul call at the spot the calling official should: (Rule Ref: MI p. 96) Single Answer a. Immediately b. Move to the depart the calling area reporting area while and get to the foul completing the proper reporting area as sequence. quickly as possible. d. All of the c. Should stand in calling area while above. completing the proper sequence and momentarily pause and hold after to ensure the dead-ball action is OK prior to departing the calling area. 87 The trail official while opposite the table calls a player-control foul in the frontcourt on A5. The official reports the foul and will now become: (Rule Ref: MI p. 213) Single Answer a. The new lead b. The new lead c. The new tableside. opposite the table. center. d. The new trail. 88 The center official who calls a foul opposite the scorer’s table in the backcourt going to the frontcourt becomes the: (Rule Ref: MI p. 211) Single Answer a. New lead. b. Center. c. New trail. d. None of the above. 89 Which official is responsible for all backcourt throw-ins? (Rule Ref: MI p. 190) Single Answer a. Lead. b. Center. c. Trail. d. All of the above. 90 The proper sequence when making a foul call at the spot of foul is: (Rule Ref: MI p. 95) Single Answer a. Whistle, pointing at the player committing the foul and verbalize fouling player’s number. b. Whistle and stop clock with open hand, followed by pointing at the player committing the foul and verbalize fouling player’s number. c. Whistle and stop clock with fist, followed by verbalize fouling player’s number and signal how play is to be resumed (i.e. designated spot, oneshot, two-shots, threeshots, etc.). d. Whistle and stop clock with open hand, followed by verbalize fouling player’s number and signal how play is to be resumed (i.e. designated spot, one-shot, twoshots, three-shots, etc.). 91 The ball is inbounded after a made basketball in the backcourt. A1 begins to dribble up court with pressure with the shot clock showing 20 seconds in a girls game (25 seconds in a boys game) but the official’s count has yet to reach 10. What is the option? Single Answer a. A backcourt b. Stop game and c. There is no violation has occurred have shot-clock violation until the operator put time back official’s count regardless of the on shot clock to match reaches 10. official’s count. the official’s count. d. Stop the game and ask a partner(s) what count they have. 92 The shot clock periods for boys and girls play in California are: (Rule Ref: MI A p. 231) Single Answer a. 35-seconds for girls and 30seconds for boys. b. 30-seconds for girls and 35seconds for boys. c. 30-seconds for both. d. 35-seconds for both. 93 A2 and B2 foul each other at the same time while A1 is holding the ball in the backcourt. How is played resumed? Single Answer a. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, reset the shot clock. b. Play is resumed at the point of interruption, no shot-clock reset. c. Play is d. Play is resumed with the AP resumed with the AP arrow, reset the shot arrow, no shot-clock clock. reset. 94 Team B’s head coach is assessed a technical foul for berating an official. Team A has the ball in its frontcourt and the shot clock shows 23 seconds. Where is the resulting throw-in after the free throws for the technical foul? Shall the shot clock be reset? (Rule Ref: 10-5-1a Penalty) Single Answer a. Play shall be resumed with a throw-in at half court after all technical fouls. b. Play shall be c. The shot clock resumed at the point shall be reset. of interruption nearest to where the ball was located when the technical foul was called. d. Both a and c. 95 With 15 seconds on the shot clock, A1’s try for goal is an air ball, and Team A recovers the ball. (Rule Ref: MI Interpretation A4 p. 233) Single Answer a. Play continues. b. The shot clock will not be reset. c. The shot clock will be reset. d. Both a and b. 96 If A1’s throw-in lodges between the basket and the backboard, which one of these applies? (Rule Ref: 9-2-8, RBT p. 128, RBT p. 183, RBT 9.2.8 p. 127/184) Single Answer a. A1 receives another throw-in attempt. b. Team A has c. An AP throwd. No reset of committed a throw-in in results. the shot clock if violation and the Team A retains the ensuing throw-in is throw-in. awarded to Team B at the original throw-in spot. 97 A1’s try for goal hits the ring and then the shot-clock horn sounds. (Rule Ref: MI Interpretation A1 p. 233) Single Answer a. Legal play. b. Ignore the horn and play continues. c. Call a shotclock violation on Team A. d. Both a and b. 98 Before the game, both coaches approach the officials and ask to play the game without a shot clock. What are the options? Single Answer a. Agree to the b. Inform the c. Give both coaches’ request and coaches you must coaches a technical play the game without start the game with a foul for unsporting a shot clock. shot clock but can conduct. discontinue the use of the shot clock after the first dead ball. d. Refuse the coaches’ request and insist that a shot clock must be used. 99 A4 is holding the ball in the lane area when Team A’s coach is assessed a technical foul. Which of the following is not true? (Rule Ref: 7-4-2, 7-5-6a, 10-5-1 Penalty) Single Answer a. Reset the shot b. Award Team c. The throw-in d. The throw-in clock. B two free throws. spot is at the division is the out-of-bounds line. spot nearest where A4 was holding the ball. 100 During the game, one of the shot clocks stops working. What are the options? Single Answer a. Turn off the b. Play the game c. Turn off the shot clock and play with the one shot shot clock and play without a shot clock. clock. with an alternatetiming device at the table. d. Play the game with one shot clock and have teams change directions each quarter.
© Copyright 2025 Paperzz