Question - + sign is the answer Rule Q: The ball remains live and in play when a runner is called out for getting a running start from off and behind a base on any fly ball. 8.9.v +True -False Q: The game is declared a forfeit in favour of the team not at fault if an ineligible player returns to the game and a pitch has been thrown. 5.4.c.8 +True -False Q: F3 is standing straddling the foul line before the ball is pitched. The BU who notices this immediately calls “Illegal Pitch” and enforces the illegal pitch rule. 6.5.a.effect -True +False Q: The batter hits an out-of-the-park home run. As he touches 3rd base he deliberately removes his helmet. The BU should call the BR “out”. 3.6.f.effect1.c -True +False Q: Once the BR passes 1st base, only the fair portion of the double base 2.4.i.note4-8 shall be used to determine if a player is on or off the base. +True -False Q: A substitute who re-enters the game is an example of an illegal reentry. +True -False 4.6.e 9.2.cc Q: The game is delayed 45 minutes because of rain. The PU, BU and 5.2 coaches from both teams shall jointly decide if the playing field is fit for play to resume. -True +False Q: The charged defensive conference rule is in effect for all age categories. 5.9.b.effect3 -True +False Q: F1 must have both feet in contact with the pitcher’s plate while taking 6.1.d the signal from F2. +True -False Q: A player who over slides first base is in jeopardy of being put out by 1.70.b the defense if the player is touched with the ball while still off base. -True +False Q: A protest occurs because a rule is misinterpreted and the correct ruling is not applied. Notification to protest must be made prior to the next pitch, legal or illegal. 11.4 +True -False Q: Catcher obstruction, illegal glove, illegal substitution, and illegal pitcher are all examples of the option play. 1.68 +True -False Q: R3, one out. F1 delivers a pitch to the plate, an illegal pitch is called 6.1-8 effect3 but B1 hits the pitch. The PU calls “Dead Ball” and awards B1 first base. -True +False 8.10.i Q: Just as the 6th inning is about to start with the game tied, it begins to 5.4.e rain heavily. The PU calls the game after waiting quite some time. A regulation tie game must be replayed in its entirety. +True -False Q: R3, none out. B1 hits the ball to F3 who fields the ball and then 8.2.g.effect comes up to tag the BR. The BR stops 10 feet from 1st base and R3 is about 6 feet from home plate. The BR suddenly steps back toward home plate to avoid the tag by F3. The umpire declares dead ball, rules the BR out and R3 is returned to 3rd base. +True -False Q: In the 3rd inning the DP enters the game on defense as F1. The FLEX, who had been pitching, remains in the game at 1st base. No substitution is announced. 4.5.g +True -False Q: R2 and R1 are both between 2nd and 3rd bases and the BR is between 8.7.g.effect1.b 1st and 2nd bases when F9 makes a throw which ends up out of play. The PU awards: -A. R2 - home; R1 – 3rd base; BR – 2nd base. - B.R2 – home; R1 – 3rd base; BR – 1st base. +C. R2 – home; R1 – home; BR – 3rd base. -D. All three runners home. 5.4.f.2 Q: Bases loaded, one out. B6 hits a deep fly ball to right field. R3 and R2 8.7.l.1.effect tag up on the fly ball while R1 goes half-way to 2nd base. F9 moves back to make the catch when a spectator reaches out over fair territory and interferes with F9, taking the ball out over the fence. The umpires rule: -A. Grand slam home run, four runs score. -B. “Dead Ball”, B6 out, R3 awarded home, R2 awarded 3rd and R1 awarded 2nd. +C. “Dead Ball”, B6 out, R3 awarded home, R2 awarded 3rd and R1 stays at 1st. -D. “Dead Ball”, B6 out, all three runners remain where they were at the time of the pitch. Q: Jones enters the batter’s box and hits a double. Smith, who follows 7.6.a.effect Jones in the lineup, steps in to the box and takes a pitch for a strike. The next pitch is a ball. The catcher asks the PU to check the bat. It is discovered to be not approved by ASA & ISF (WBSC). At this time the defensive coach appeals for Jones and Smith to both be out because the bat was used by both batters. The umpire rules: -A. Both Smith and Jones are out. -B. Both Smith and Jones are out and ejected. +C. Smith is out and ejected and Jones stays at 2B. -D. Jones is out and ejected and Smith is out. Q: Bases loaded, one out. The batter hits a sharp grounder to F1 who fields the ball cleanly and throws to F2 on the force play of R3 at the plate. R3 slides inside the diamond and interferes with F2 attempting a throw to first for the double play on the BR. The PU declares “Dead Ball” and rules R3 out as the second out on the force play at home and the BR the third out as a result of the interference. -True +False 8.9.m.effect 7.6.c.effect1 Q: R3 with none out. B5 hits the ball to F6 who fields the ball and 7.2.c.effect2.b throws to F3 to force B5 out at first, as R3 scores. Before the next pitch the defence properly appeals that B5 was not the correct batter and that B4 should have batted. The PU agrees and returns R3 to third base, rules B4 out, and B5 returns to bat again in proper order. -True +False Q: Runners at first and second with none out. B3 hits a fly ball to F5 who intentionally drops the ball. The PU rules B3 out on the infield fly, ignores the intentionally dropped ball and leaves the ball in play. 8.2.e +True -False Q: One out. B2 bats and hits a single. B5 bats and hits a home run. U3 7.2.c.effect2.c calls an illegal pitch on a pitch to B6. The defence appeals that the offence has batted out of order. The PU agrees and rules B3 out for missing his turn at bat, B4 just misses his turn at bat, the 2 runs count on the home run and a ball is awarded to B6 on the illegal pitch. -True +False Q: An offensive coach at 3B is using a “Bluetooth” in his ear. The 4.1.f offensive coach at 1B is also wearing one. The umpire notices these, but cannot tell if they are using them, at the time, to communicate on the field. The umpire should eject the coach if he notices them utilizing the “Bluetooth” for direct communication. +True -False Q: A runner may run behind or in front of a fielder who is attempting to 8.10.a field a batted ball to avoid causing interference. +True -False 8.2.l.note Q: R1 and R2 with two out. The manager uses a substitute player as a 4.7.h.effect1.d.2 pinch runner for R1 but does not make the change with the PU. The batter hits the next pitch for a home run. Before a pitch to the next batter, the defense appeals that R1’s substitution is an illegal substitute. The PU allows the appeal and no runs score. -True +False Q: With R3 on 3B the batter receives ball 4 and proceeds to 1B. The BR 8.9.t.effect3 continues to 2B. The pitcher (inside the pitching circle) receives the ball from the catcher and looks at the BR running toward 2B when R3 leaves 3B for home plate. The BU correctly calls dead ball and calls R3 out for a lead off. +True -False Q: The coach presents his line-up to the PU prior to the game. On review, the PU notices that there is a player with the #00 on the roster. The PU tells the coach that the player may not play, unless they change their jersey, as the #00 is an illegal number. 3.8.e.3 -True +False Q: R2 and R3. The batter has a count of 2 Balls and 2 Strikes. An illegal 6.1-8.effect3 exception pitch is called on the next pitched ball. The batter swings and hits a single and arrives at 1B safely, but on the ensuing throw from F8, R2 is thrown out at home plate. The PU enforces the illegal pitch rule, bringing the BR back to bat with a full count and scores R3 and places R2 on 3B. -True +False Q: Lifting the pivot foot off of the pitcher’s plate and returning it to the plate creating a rocking motion, is an illegal act. 6.3.h.note +True -False Q: Plate umpire and base umpires may correct and rectify any situation 10.6.d.note which results in the reversal of an umpire’s decision after an illegal pitch has been delivered. -True +False Q: R2 and one out. B1 hits a pitched ball above foul territory near 3rd 8.9.p.effect base. F5 is unable to catch the fly ball because the coach remained in the coach’s box and did not move. The plate umpire rules that B1 is out on coach’s interference and returns R2 to 2nd base with two out. -True +False Q: An illegal re-entry occurs when a starting player returns to the game after being substituted for, but not in his/her original position in the offensive line-up. 1.42.b +True -False Q: An appeal by the defensive team may be made by any fielder in the infield. +True -False 1.2.b Q: R1 and R2 with none out. B3 hits a line drive that is dropped by F6. 1.52.a F6 recovers the ball and tags R2 going to third, steps on second base and then throws to F3 in time to get B3 at first. The plate umpire rules an infield fly (B3 out) and R2 out on the tag. R1 is not forced to second because the batter has already been declared out. Two out and a runner on second. -True +False Q: Obstruction is the act of a defensive player or team member that hinders or prevents a batter from striking or hitting a pitched ball. 1.62.a +True -False Q: A re-entry is the act of any of the starting players returning to the game after being legally, or illegally, substituted. 1.80 +True -False Q: It is considered a substitution when the FLEX player enters the game 1.90.c on offence for the DP. +True -False Q: Eligible roster members may be added to the substitute list on the line- 4.2.a.3 up card at any time during the game. +True -False Q: R3 with none out. B5 hits the ball to F6 who fields the ball and throws to F3 to force B5 out at first, as R3 scores. Before the next pitch the defence properly appeals that B5 was not the correct batter and that B4 should have batted. The PU agrees and returns R3 to third base and rules both B4 and B5 out with the next batter being B6. 7.2.c.effect2.b +True -False Q: The home team is ahead by five runs after five innings. The home 5.6.a.2 team goes ahead by seven runs in the bottom of the sixth inning. The PU declares that the seventh inning must be played because the mercy rule declares the home team must be ahead by seven runs after five innings, therefore the top of the seventh must be played. -True +False Q: The DP may enter the game on defence, at any defensive position, at 4.5.g any time during the game. +True -False Q: The DR (Designated Runner) is not allowed to enter the game twice in the same inning. 4.3.c.3 -True +False Q: A runner who physically passes a preceding runner, who has not been 8.9.e declared out, will be called out immediately and the ball remains in play. +True -False Q: An umpire may allow a proper appeal to the defensive team to achieve a fourth out in the inning, in order to negate a run that has been scored by the offence. +True -False 8.9.i.effect3.c.note5 Q: When the on-deck batter, even if still in the on-deck circle, causes 7.1.e.2 interference on a fielder trying to catch a batted fly ball, the PU will rule the BR out and return runners to the bases held at the time of the pitch. +True -False Q: One out. B2 bats and hits a single. B5 bats and hits a home run. U3 calls an illegal pitch on a pitch to B6. The defence appeals that the offence has batted out of order. The PU rules all play stands; two runs score, one out, B3 and B4 miss their turn at bat, B6 awarded an additional ball. 7.2.c.effect2.c +True -False Q: An illegal re-entry occurs when, after being substituted for, the FLEX 1.42.d player returns to the game in the DP’s original position in the offensive line-up. -True +False Q: R1 and R2 with none out. B3 hits a line drive that is dropped by F6. 1.52.a F6 recovers the ball and tags R2 going to third, steps on second base and then throws to F3 in time to get B3 at first. The PU does not call or signal infield fly. The BU rules R2 out on the tag, R1 out on the force play at second base, and B3 out on the force at first base. A rare triple play! +True -False Q: Upon appeal, the offensive coach/manager is given the option of taking the result of the play or enforcement of the infraction after F8 catches a ball with an illegal glove. +True -False 1.68 4.6.c.exception1 Q: A Temporary Runner is used to replace the catcher of record from the 1.95 previous defensive inning who is now on base with two out. The temporary runner must currently be in the batting order. +True -False Q: The name of the defensive player for whom the DP is batting, known 4.5.c as the FLEX player, must be placed in the number 10 position on the lineup card. +True -False Q: An incorrect batter is discovered while at bat. During the at-bat, and after a wild pitch, the offense scored a run and baserunners advanced. The defence appeals that the wrong batter is at bat. The PU rules the proper batter out and all plays nullified while the incorrect batter was at bat. 7.2.c.effect2.a -True +False Q: An outfielder throws his glove into the air to make a spectacular catch 8.7.f.effect1.note of a fair, batted ball over his head. The glove, with the ball in it, falls back into his hands. The BR continues to run the bases and crosses home plate as the outfielder revels in his remarkable play. The PU immediately rules dead ball and awards the BR third base. -True +False Q: The DP may enter the game on defence at any time during the game, 4.5.g but only in the FLEX player’s position. -True +False Q: If the DP enters the game on defence for the FLEX player, this change need not be reported to the PU as an official substitution. 4.5.h.1 -True +False Q: As we are often asked to keep track of time limits, umpires are permitted to wear a wrist watch during a game. 10.1.d -True +False Q: The batter steps on home plate while swinging and making contact with the ball. The PU rules the batter out. 7.6.e +True -False Q: R2 and R3 with none out. The batter hits a pop up to F6 who intentionally drops the ball. The PU allows the play to continue with all runners in jeopardy, including the batter runner. 1.54 +True -False Q: The offensive team protests the base umpire’s out call at 1st on the BR. The BU should deny the protest as this is a matter of judgement. 11.1.a.1 +True -False Q: R2, 1 out. The batter hits a line drive into left field and while rounding third base R2 misses the base. The only one on defence who saw it happen was the coach in the dugout who then yells out at the BU that the base was missed. The BU should honour the verbal appeal and rule R2 out for the missed base. -True +False 1.2 Q: With no runners on base, the batter-runner is awarded a base on balls 8.9.t.effect note and continues to run towards 2B without stopping at 1B. If the pitcher has control of the ball within the pitcher’s circle the batter-runner is out. -True +False Q: The ball is declared dead and not in play when a runner is 8.9.v immediately called out for getting a running start from a base on any fly ball. -True +False Q: R1 on base when the batter hits a slow roller. F4 does not have a play 8.7.b.effect1 and collides with R1 who is attempting to reach 2B. The BU immediately calls ‘Dead Ball’ and awards R1 2B for the obstruction. -True +False Q: An untouched batted ball in fair territory rolls against a resting, 7.6.h.note discarded bat in fair territory and settles in fair ground. The PU rules this is a fair ball. +True -False Q: B4 hits a single. Before the next pitch is thrown, the defensive coach 4.6.a-e.effect1-4 appeals that the batter was an unannounced illegal re-entry. The umpire rules that a proper substitute will take the place of the unannounced illegally re-entered player. There is no further penalty to be enforced. -True +False 9.2.cc Q: The on deck batter enters the on deck circle with a bat which has a weighted ring over the end of the barrel. The PU should remove the equipment and rule the on deck batter out. 7.1.c.note.effect1-2 -True +False Q: A pitched ball is hit hard on the ground. The batted ball deflects off 8.1.e of F4 and hits the BU before bounding out into right field. The PU rules “Delayed Dead Ball”, allows the play to continue and then awards the BR 2B. -True +False Q: R2 and R3 with 1 out. The batter hits the next pitched ball on the ground to F6. F6 attempts to tag R2 who is advancing toward 3B. R2 stops to avoid the tag and steps backward toward 2B. The BU calls “Dead Ball” and rules R2 out for stepping backwards toward 2B. The offensive coach requests time and protests that the rule has been misinterpreted. The protest should be allowed. 8.2.g +True -False Q: Unfenced diamond, R2 with 1 out. The batter hits a fly ball close to 8.7.j.effect the out-of bounds markers on the right side of the field. F9 catches the ball several steps inside this line, but his momentum carries him out of play. The PU should call a “Dead Ball”, rule the batter out on the caught fly ball, and award R2 home plate. -True +False 11.2.a Q: R1 and B2 at bat with the count of 3 Balls, 2 Strikes. R1 steals on the 10.6.d pitch, which is called a Ball 4. Meanwhile, the catcher throws to F4 for the play on the advancing R1. U3 calls the runner out on the successful tag. R1 gets up to return to his 3B dugout and is tagged a second time. The umpires call “Time”, consult with each other and place R1 at 2B. R1 was placed in jeopardy when called out by U3, and so the decision should be corrected. +True -False Q: R2 and two out. Just before the pitcher releases the ball in a legal 10.1.i.1 delivery to the plate, the plate umpire calls, “Dead Ball!” points to R2 and declares, “Runner is out for a lead off.” The offensive team seeks to lodge a Protest claiming that it is the base umpire’s call. The Protest is received, considered and rejected as invalid. +True -False Q: Regardless of when the defence appeals, any player who fails to bat in 7.2.c.effect2.c.4 the order listed on the line-up card will be called out by the PU. -True +False Q: The batter hits a double but misses first. The pitcher receives the ball 6.8.effect and, while standing on the pitcher’s plate, throws to 1st base in a live ball appeal of R2 missing 1st. The Plate umpire rules an illegal pitch. +True -False Q: A temporary runner for the catcher is a player currently in the batting 1.95 order who was the last out of the inning. -True +False 11.1.a.1 Q: R2, none out. A bat belonging to the defensive team is lying in front 3.7.effect2 of their dugout, 3rd base side. B1 hits ground ball to F3. F3 does not touch 1st base, but attempts to throw R2 out advancing to 3rd base. Ball is overthrown, hitting the bat left on the field in front of the defensive team dugout. The umpire calls “Dead ball”, a “Blocked Ball”, and awards R2 third base, and B1 1st base. -True +False Q: R1 and 2 out. Unannounced, the FLEX comes up to bat for B1 and hits a single to F8. B1 is not the DP. At the completion of the play, the defensive coach requests time and correctly appeals to the PU that the FLEX just batted. The PU should: 1.42.d -A. Rule the FLEX, an illegal substitute and call B1 out for batting out of order, ending the inning. +B. Rule the FLEX an illegal re-entry, rule B1 out for batting out of order, eject the FLEX and the coach, and return R1 to 1st. -C. Rule the FLEX as batting out of order, call the correct batter B1 out, ending the inning. -D. Rule the FLEX as an illegal substitute, remove him from the game, and return B1 to the plate to assume the ball and strike count at the time of the appeal. Q: R1 and R3. B5 hits a sharp grounder to F3 who fields the ball. B5 8.2.g stops running toward 1B about thirty feet up the line as R3 and R1 advance toward home plate and 2B respectively. After R3 crosses home plate and just prior to R1 reaching 2B, B5 steps back to avoid the tag by F3. The PU: -A. Allows the play to continue with a live ball and with runners in jeopardy. -B. Calls “Dead Ball” and rules B5 out as soon as B5 steps back to avoid the tag. Rules R3 scores and returns R1 to 1B. 4.6.effect.note1 7.2.c.effect2.b -C. Calls “Dead Ball” and rules B5 out as soon as B5 stops to avoid the tag. Returns R3 to 3B and R1 back to 1B. +D. Calls “Dead Ball” and rules B5 out as soon as B5 steps back to avoid the tag. Returns R3 to 3B and R1 back to 1B. Q: R1, Count on batter is 2 Balls and 1 Strike. Batter swings and misses 7.6.j.1.effect the pitch and then intentionally steps across home plate to interfere with the catcher’s ability to throw out the runner stealing second base. The catcher does not throw out the runner. The umpire should rule: -A. Both the batter and runner are out. +B. The batter is out, and the base runner returns to 1B. -C. The batter is out, and the base runner remains at 2B. -D. The runner is out, and the batter has a 2 – 2 count. Q: R2. The batter hits a pitched ball toward F6 who picks up the ball and 8.9.i.effect3.note1 throws it out of play. R2 is awarded home and the BR is awarded 2B. The BR touches 1B and is standing on 2B when R2 misses home plate. An appeal from the defense will only be accepted once a new ball is put in play. +True -False Q: A pitcher who relieves another is allowed a maximum of five warm- 6.9.a up pitches, provided he has not pitched in the same inning. +True -False Q: R1, and one out. B1 bunts a pop-up to F3 who intentionally drops the 8.2.l.effect ball in order to attempt a double play. The PU should call B1 out and let R1 continue to run the bases at their own risk. -True +False 6.9.d Q: Interference by an umpire always results in an immediate dead ball. 8.1.e.effect -True +False Q: As long as base runners are running the bases an umpire should not call “Dead Ball” when a base becomes dislodged. 8.4.c.effect +True -False Q: International tie breaker situation and the catcher is starting on 2B. The next 2 batters are put out. The coach is now allowed to put in a temporary runner for the catcher even though the catcher did not bat. 4.11.f +True -False Q: Bases loaded with two out in the bottom of the seventh inning with the home team trailing 3-2. B2 hits an out-of-the-park home run. R1, in his excitement, misses 2nd base as the runners round the bases. The defence makes a proper appeal at 2nd base. The umpire should rule: -A. R1 out; two runs score; home team wins 4-3. -B. R1 out; B2 is awarded a home run and the home team wins 5-3. -C. R1 out; score one run; tie score 3-3; extra innings. +D. R1 out; no runs score; visitors win 3-2. 5.8.b.2 Q: R3 and R2 with a 3 ball – 2 strike count on B6. The next pitch is a 8.7.c.effect wild pitch that gets lodged in the backstop. The PU should rule: -A. “Dead Ball”, no advancement of base runners, and the bases loaded. -B. A live ball with all runners advancing at their own risk. +C. “Dead Ball”, R3 scores, R2 awarded 3rd base, and B6 awarded 1st base. -D. “Dead Ball”, R3 scores, R2 awarded 3rd base, and B6 awarded 1st base on the walk and 2nd base on the wild pitch. 8.8.i.effect Q: B7 is an illegal substitute at bat with a count of three balls and one 4.7.h.effect1.a strike when the defensive team reports the infraction to the PU. The PU rules: -A. B7 out and removed from the game, and B8 is the next batter. +B. B7 removed from the game and replaced with a legal substitute who assumes the 3 ball – 1 strike count. -C. That B7 may now report to the PU and become a legal substitute. -D. A forfeited game to the team not at fault. Q: With one out, R1 passes R2 between 2nd and 3rd bases after a legally 8.9.e.effect batted ball. The proper ruling is: -A. “Dead Ball”, R2 out and return R1 to 2nd base, award the BR 1st base. -B. R2 out, ball remains live and runners are in jeopardy. -C. “Dead Ball”, R1 out and return R2 to 2nd base and award the BR 1st base. +D. R1 out, ball remains live and runners are in jeopardy. Q: R2 and R1, one out. B3 hits a deep fly ball that is caught by F8 who then falls over the fence. The umpire(s) rule: -A. “Dead Ball”, B3 out, R2 and R1 stay at their respective bases. -B. “Dead Ball”, home run, three runs score, remains one out. -C. “Dead Ball”, B3 out, R2 awarded home, R1 awarded 3rd base. +D. “Dead Ball”, B3 out, R2 awarded 3rd base, R1 awarded 2nd base. 8.7.j.effect Q: R1 leaves 1st base on the release of the pitch. B8 attempts a drag bunt. After bunting the ball B8 drops the bat over fair territory and the bat hits the ball in front of F2 trying to field the ball. R1 had rounded 2nd base prior to the bat making contact with the ball. The PU rules: -A. Foul ball. -B. Fair ball. +C. “Dead Ball”, B8 out and R1 returned to 1st base. 7.6.h.effect 4.7.h.effect3.a -D. “Dead Ball”, B8 out and R1 returned to 2nd base. Q: R1 leaves 1st base on the release of the pitch. B2 attempts a drag 7.6.h.note bunt. After contacting the ball, B2 drops the bat, which hits the ground and rolls backward toward home plate. After hitting the ground, the ball spins backward and contacts the bat just in front of home plate. The bat settles in foul territory. The ball settles in fair territory. R1 had touched 2nd base before the contact was made between the ball and the bat. The PU rules: -A. Dead ball, B2 is out for hitting the ball a second time, R1 is returned to 1st base. -B. Foul Ball. -C. Dead ball, B2 is out for hitting the ball a second time, R1 is returned to 2nd base. +D. Fair Ball. Q: R3 and R1 with none out. B7 bunts the ball back to F1 who throws 8.7.b.effect4.c home to F2 who tags R3 sliding into home plate. R1 rounds 2nd base and is obstructed by F6. F2 throws the ball to F5 who misses the tag on R1 at 3rd. R1 over slides 3rd base and is then tagged by F5. F5 then throws to F4 who tags B7 attempting to advance to 2nd base. The correct ruling is: -A. Declare a “dead ball” when R1 is played on at 3rd. Return R3 to 3rd; R1 to 2nd; and B7 to 1st. -B. Declare a “dead ball” when R1 is played on at 3rd. Rule R3 out; award R1 3rd base; return B7 to 1st. +C. Rule R3, R1 and B7 all declared out. -D. Declare a “dead ball” when R1 is played on at 3rd. Rule R3 out; award R1 3rd base; award B7 2nd base. Q:. R2 and R1 with two out. B3 hits a line drive to right, centre field. 8.4.d.effect After the ball comes back into the infield R2, R1 and B3 are all standing on 3rd base. F5, with possession of the ball, tags R2 on 3rd. R2 then breaks for home and B3 retreats to 2nd, F5 tags R1 on 3rd and then throws to F4 who tags B3 sliding back into 2nd after R2 scores. The umpires rule: -A. R2 is out on the tag at 3rd and all subsequent play is irrelevant. (3 out). -B. R2 is safe on the tag at 3rd; R1 is out on the tag at 3rd and all subsequent play is irrelevant. (3 out). -C. R2 is safe on the tag at 3rd; R1 is safe on the tag at 3rd; B3 is the 3rd out and no run scores. +D. R2 is safe on the tag at 3rd; R1 is safe on the tag at 3rd; B3 is the 3rd out and R2 scores. Q: R3 and R1 with one out. B1 leaves the batter’s box to gain a running 7.6.f.exception start. After returning to the batter’s box she swings at the pitched ball, contacts the catcher’s glove, and does not make contact with the ball. The PU rules: -A. The offensive coach has the option of taking the award for catcher’s obstruction or taking the result of the play. +B. Catcher obstruction is enforced; B1 awarded 1st base; R3 remains at 3rd; R1 is forced to 2nd. -C. “Dead Ball”; B1 out; R3 remains at 3rd; R1 remains at 1st. -D. “Dead Ball”; illegal pitch; R3 awarded home; R1 awarded 2nd; an additional ball awarded to B1. Q: A proper appeal made on a player who has entered the game after having been deemed ineligible shall result in: -A. his/her ejection. -B. his/her ejection and the ejection of the coach. -C. his/her ejection and replaced by a legal substitute. 4.7.h.effect3.b 8.1.d.effect3 +D. the game being forfeited to the team not at fault. Q: B4 is at bat with a count of one ball and two strikes. On the first pitch 7.2.c.effect2.a.1-2 to B4, which was a wild pitch, R3 scored from 3rd base and R1 advanced to 2nd base. The defensive coach now appeals that B4 should not be at bat and that B3 should be at bat. The PU checks the line-up card and agrees that B3 should be at bat, not B4. The PU rules: +A. B3 replaces B4 and assumes the one ball, two strikes count; all plays stand while B4 was at bat. -B .B4 is removed from the game; B3 assumes the one ball, two strikes count; all plays stand while B4 was at bat. -C. B3 replaces B4 and assumes the one ball, two strikes count; R3 is returned to 3rd and R1 is returned to 1st. -D. B3 is declared out; B4 starts his/her turn at bat with no count; R3 is returned to 3rd and R1 is returned to 1st. Q: R1 with one out. B2 hits a ground ball to right field. R1 intentionally 3.6.f.effect1.c removes his helmet and throws it to the ground in the vicinity of 2nd base. F9 fields and then throws the ball toward 2nd base to get B2 at 2nd. R1 is approaching HP to score. F9’s throw hits R1’s discarded helmet that prevents the ball from getting to F6 covering at 2nd. The umpire(s) should rule: -A. “Dead Ball” the moment R1 intentionally removed his helmet and rule R1 out; award B2 1st base. +B. R1 out the moment he intentionally removed his helmet; declare “Dead Ball” when the thrown ball makes contact with the discarded helmet; return B2 to 1st base as a base runner. -C. “Dead Ball” when the thrown ball makes contact with the discarded helmet; return R1 to 3rd base and B2 returned to 1st base. -D. R1 out the moment he intentionally removed his helmet; declare “Dead Ball” when the thrown ball makes contact with the discarded helmet and rule B2 out. 3.6.f.effect2.a Q: The home team is not using a DP and has one substitute available on 4.10.d-e the bench. In the top of the 4th inning the substitute goes into the game to play defence for F2. F2 re-enters the game in the bottom of the 5th inning to bat. In the top of the 6th inning F4 of the home team gets spiked on a slide play into 2nd base, causing F4 to bleed profusely. The umpire should rule: -A. The substitute has already been in the game, and has left the game due to a re-entry, therefore (s)he cannot re-enter the game a second time as a replacement player for the bleeding F4. +B. Allow the substitute to act as a Replacement Player for F4. If the game is tied after seven complete innings, the game is forfeited if F4 cannot return to the game. -C. If the training staff cannot control the bleeding of F4 within 15 minutes, then F4 cannot return to the game. -D. None of the above. Q: Bases loaded with two out in the bottom of the 7th inning with the 8.9.f.effect.3 home team trailing 5-4. B4 hits an out-of-the-park home run and, during the melee, misses 2nd base. The defence makes a proper appeal at 2nd base. The umpire should rule: -A. Timing play; B4 out; score one run; game tied at 5-5; extra innings. -B. Timing play; B4 out; score two runs; home team wins 6-5. +C. Timing play; B4 out; score three runs; home team wins 7-5. -D. Grand slam; home team wins 8-5. 4.10.effect2
© Copyright 2025 Paperzz